changing lines

Depending on the divination method (yarrow stalks, coins or electronic oracle as we use it on no2DO), different numerical values result for each individual “throw”:

  • no2DO oracle (electronic): 7 or 8
  • coins or yarrow stalks: 6 or 7 or 8 or 9

The values 6 and 9 are regarded as changing lines, i.e. they change into their respective opposite: 6 (Yin) becomes 7 (Yang), 9 (Yang) becomes 8 (Yin). This transforms the original hexagram into another one of the 64 hexagrams. (More explanations and an example can be found here).

I regularly receive requests if or why not I do consider the changing lines of the I Ching’s hexagrams in no2DO. My perspective on this issue is as follows: My opinion, working with the I Ching means first of all to thoroughly understand the (original) hexagram. This takes time and effort. However, I consider this step essential and an effort worth taking. For this reason I have expanded the individual hexagrams’ interpretation pages step by step and thus given the users a variety of material at hand.

Without tools or if someone shies away from this effort, it is actually tempting to quickly turn to the changing lines. This is, for example, often the case when solely working with the original texts. Let’s be honest: “Perseverance furthers!” does not say much. It is natural to turn to the changing lines in search of more “meat”. Unfortunately, the texts offered in the changing-lines-section are equally cryptic and bring enlightenment only in few cases. An explanation for this could be that the original texts possibly contain political messages from the times of the texts’ origins. Dominique Hertzer investigated this phenomenon in her book “Das Mawangdui- Yijing”.

However, if you still want to consider the changing lines, I’d offer following advice: The changing lines result in a further, a second hexagram. Once you have worked extensively with the first hexagram, you could then do the same with the second hexagram.


Order, connection, pooling, similarity, symmetry


Usually three coin are used for divination. 3 is assigned as a value to the front of each coin, the 2 to the back. By tossing coins, the total value is 6, 7, 8 or 9, with 6 and 8 representing a broken line (yin) and 7 and 9 representing a solid line (yang). This process is repeated six times until the hexagram is complete.
The values 6 and 9 are regarded as changing lines, i.e. they change into their respective opposite: 6 (Yin) becomes 7 (Yang), 9 (Yang) becomes 8 (Yin). This transforms the original hexagram into another of the 64 hexagrams.

Read more:


The philosophy of Confucius. Emphasizes personal and governmental morality, correctness of social relationships, justice, kindness, and sincerity. Confucianism, along with Buddhism and Daoism, has shaped Chinese culture and society for many centuries and influences everyday life in China, Japan, Korea, Singapore, Vietnam and Taiwan.

Read more:

core character

Lines 2, 3 and 4 form a hexagram’s first core character, line 3, 4 and 5 its second core character. Both core characters highlight the hexagram’s internal dynamics by showing how the two trigrams are linked together and interact.

cross the great water

Cross the great water. Central notion of the traditional interpretation of the I Ching. Meaning: to finish the old (and take final leave of it) and to address the new.

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. // By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Information

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.